Welcome to the Emory Youth Symphony Orchestra!

Auditions for the 2020-2021 Season will be held *virtually* on August 15-16, 2020.  Visit our auditions page for more information on these online auditions and how to prepare and submit your audition recording. In consideration of vital input from Emory University, Emory Healthcare, and the Centers for Disease Control , EYSO will start the first part of its season online this year. This allows us to deliver a 1st-rate virtual musical experience for EYSO musicians while we make plans for our eventual return to in-person music-making. Our fall season will include seminars, masterclasses, excerpt and audition classes, and musician’s wellness classes with members of the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Boston Symphony, and Atlanta Symphony, Opera, and Ballet orchestras. Stay tuned for more details and updates!

EYSO is excited to announce our preliminary lineup of guest artists who will be presenting masterclasses, seminars, and workshops on a variety of topics including solo and orchestral performance, audition techniques, musician wellness, college readiness/applications, and more! Below is a partial list of our esteemed guests:
Peter Winograd, Violin, American String Quartet and Manhattan School of Music
David Grossman, Bass – New York Philharmonic
Michael Tiscione, Associate Principal Trumpet, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Timothy Higgins, Principal Trombone, San Francisco Symphony
Jonathan Vinocour, Principal Viola, San Franscisco Symphony
Christina Smith, Principal Flute, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Cornelius Chiu, Violin, Chicago Symphony Orchestra
William Johnston, Principal Viola, Atlanta Opera Orchestra
Julianne Lee, Principal Second Violin, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Guy Piddington II, Trumpet, San Franscisco Symphony Orchestra
Sergiu Schwartz, Violin, Columbus State University
Jay Christy, Assistant Principal Second Violin, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Elizabeth Koch Tiscione, Principal Oboe, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Jessica Valeri, Horn, San Francisco Symphony
Nathan Zgonc, Acting/Associate Principal Trombone, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Matthew Schlomer, Conductor, Interlochen Arts Academy
James Zellers, Flute, Atlanta Ballet
Jason Eklund, Horn, Atlanta Ballet
Jaclyn Rainey, Principal Horn, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Scott Pollard, Percussion, Con Legno & Emory University
Laura Ardan, Principal Clarinet, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Giselle Martin, Director of Recruitment and Talent, Emory University Admissions
Joanna Kaczorowska, Violin, SUNY Stony Brook, New York Chamber Musicians
Amy Porter, Professor of Flute, University of Michigan
Anthony Georgeson, Associate Principal Bassoon, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Guang Wang, Cello, Vega String Quartet & Emory University
Karen Freer, Acting Associate/Assistant Principal Cello, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Michael Kurth, Bass and Composer, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Emily Brebach, Oboe/English Horn, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Marci Gurnow, Clarinet, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Michael Moore, tuba, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra
Gaye LeBlanc, harp, University of Oklahoma
Elena Cholakova, piano, Emory University

2020-2021 CONCERT DATES:

November 18, 2020 8:00pm
February 24, 2021 8:00pm
May 5, 2021 8:00pm

Tentative Programming for 2020-2021 includes:

Mahler, Adagietto from Symphony No. 5
Prokofiev, Suite No. 2 from Romeo & Juliet
Tchaikovsky, Serenade for Strings
Gershwin, An American in Paris
Elgar, Enigma Variations

For general information and reference, our 2019-2020 programming is as follows:

November 2019
Verdi, Forza del Destino Overture
Kodály, Hary Janos Suite
Barber, Second Essay for Orchestra
Khachaturian, Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia

February 2020
Haydn, Concerto for Trumpet & Orchestra in E-flat Major (with Michael Tiscione, Associate Principal Trumpet, Atlanta Symphony Orchestra)
Shostakovich, Symphony No. 9

May 2020
Moncayo, Huapango
Shostakovich, Cello Concerto No. 1, Timothy Cho, Cello (Winner, 2020 EYSO Concerto Competition)
Copland, Four Dance Episodes from Rodeo

Please check the Past Seasons page for select repertoire from previous seasons.